The State of New Jersey frowns heavily upon drivers who operate their vehicles while under the influence of drugs or alcohol and issues serious punishments to anyone who is found guilty of doing so. However, when an individual is convicted of DUI for the second time, the severity of the penalties increases. That is why anyone who has been charged with DUI in Newark, NJ, whether it is their second offense or not, should retain an experienced DUI lawyer who can help fight their charges.
DUI offenders are always encouraged to retain legal counsel if they are looking to accomplish any of the following:
- Determine if the arresting officer made a mistake or violated their rights during the arrest.
- Get their charges reduced or dismissed.
- Request a plea bargain to help lessen the penalties.
- Defend their rights in court.
- Help them understand the charges they are facing and what penalties they carry.
What penalties am I looking at for a second offense DUI?
If you have been charged with DUI and this is your second offense, you could be looking at the following penalties:
- Having to pay a fine of $500 to $1,000.
- Serving a prison sentence of at least 48 consecutive hours and up to 90 days.
- Having your driver’s license suspended for two years.
- Being detained for 48 consecutive hours in a regional Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
- Having to pay an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years.
- Have an ignition interlock device installed inside your vehicle for a period of one to three years after your driving privileges have been restored. An ignition interlock device is something that measures your blood alcohol content level. After an offender blows into the device, it determines whether they have consumed any alcohol. In the event alcohol is detected, their vehicle will not start, hence, they are unable to drive drunk.
[Source: New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety].
In addition to the penalties listed above, all DUI offenders will also incur the following fees:
- A $100 surcharge that will be deposited in the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund.
- A $100 Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee as well as a $100 Intoxicated Driving Program fee.
- A $50 fee for the Violent Crimes Compensation Fund.
- A $75 fee for the Safe and Secure Community Program.
If you want to stand any chance at getting your charges or penalties reduced, you need to contact our office to speak with Newark, NJ DUI defense lawyer Eric M. Mark. In the event you are seeking legal representation for a loved one who has been arrested and charged with DUI in Newark, NJ, we would be more than happy to meet with you and explain how we can assist your loved one who is currently unable to contact us.
The Law Office of Eric M. Mark is located at:
201 Washington Street
Newark, NJ 07102