About 41 million people in the United States receive a speeding ticket each year, which accounts for just over 20 percent of all licensed drivers. Although speeding and other traffic violations are certainly common, the penalties are often severe and may include fines, court costs, surcharges, and even prison.
“Baby DWI”: Overview of Underage DWI Laws in New Jersey
In this recently published blog, I discussed the legal consequences for underage drinking in New Jersey. Not only is underage drinking rampant in New Jersey but also underage drinking and driving. Regardless of the age of the driver, driving under the influence is a significant legal offense.
What Constitutes “Endangering the Welfare of Children” in New Jersey?
Endangering the Welfare of Children is a criminal offense that comes with severe penalties in the state of New Jersey. There are several types of crimes that can be charged as Endangering the Welfare of Children, ranging from causing harm to a child that constitutes abuse or neglect to creating or distributing child pornography.
What are the Legal Consequences for Underage Drinking in New Jersey?
Elizabeth, NJ—In both Elizabeth, NJ as well as the entire state of New Jersey, a person must be 21 years old to legally purchase or consume any alcoholic beverage on a licensed premises. While most people are aware of this law, underage drinking is rampant—the 2015 National Survey on Drug Use and Health reported that 20 percent of people aged 12 to 20 drank alcohol in the past 30 days. According to the State of New Jersey Department of Human Services Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services, New Jersey youth appear to be experimenting with alcohol at a rate above the national average, with approximately 470,000 underage youth in New Jersey drinking each year.
Will Your License Be Suspended After Your First DWI in New Jersey?
If you’re like most drivers in New Jersey, it’s hard to imagine getting by without the freedom to hit the road on four wheels. But if you’re facing DWI charges—even if it is your first offense—it is likely that your driver’s license will be suspended.
Is the Smell of Marijuana Probable Cause for a Warrantless Search in New Jersey?
The Fourth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution protects citizens from illegal searches and seizures. This is why probable cause must be established before a police officer can conduct a warrantless search.