If you’re like most drivers in New Jersey, it’s hard to imagine getting by without the freedom to hit the road on four wheels. But if you’re facing DWI charges—even if it is your first offense—it is likely that your driver’s license will be suspended.
Even if you don’t drive all that often, a DWI conviction comes with serious penalties that will impact you personally and financially. Beyond the license suspension, a first offense may come with a steep fine, a $1,000 surcharge each year for three years, fees, incarceration, and an order to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
If you failed the breathalyzer, it’s easy to assume that there’s no way to fight your charges. But this simply is not true. In fact, if the police made certain procedural errors before, during, or after your arrest, the results of your breath test may not even be admissible in court, which could lead to the dismissal of your case.
If you would like to learn about the various defenses against DWI charges, contact my office to discuss your case. As a former Assistant Prosecutor, I have a unique skillset that makes me particularly effective as a criminal defense lawyer. Call 973-453-2009 to schedule a free initial consultation with an Elizabeth DUI attorney from the Law Office of Eric M. Mark.
Duration of Driver’s License Suspension After a DWI in New Jersey
The duration of your driver’s license suspension will depend on whether this is your first or subsequent offense and your blood alcohol concentration at the time of your arrest. For example, if this is your first offense and your BAC was greater than 0.08 but less than 0.10, your driver’s license could be suspended for three months. If your BAC was 0.10 or greater, though, the suspension could last from seven months to one year.
If this is your second offense within 10 years of the first, your driver’s license could be suspended for two years. For a third offense within 10 years of the second, the suspension could last for 10 years.
Does New Jersey Provide Conditional or Work Licenses After a DWI Conviction?
No. As the Motor Vehicle Commission explains, New Jersey does not provide work or conditional licenses. That means if your driver’s license is suspended, you will not be able to drive in the state of New Jersey until your license has been restored.
There are, however, certain drug offenses that allow for a waiver of the license suspension if hardship can be proven, but this does not apply to DWI convictions.
It goes without saying that losing your driver’s license could have far-reaching effects on your job, career, and family. So if you’re facing DWI charges, it is critical that you take every possible step to fight them.
Your first call should be to a criminal defense lawyer.
If you are facing DWI charges in New Jersey, contact my office to discuss your defense options. Call 973-453-2009 to schedule a consultation with a DUI attorney in Elizabeth.