Under a policy change announced by USCIS on Oct. 23, renewals of non-immigrant visas will undergo the same scrutiny as first-time applications. Before the policy update, officers could give deference to findings in previously approved applications when deciding on renewals, but now, even if the beneficiary and petitioner are unchanged, officers must treat extension requests the same as new applications.
Law Office of Eric M Mark
What Is Statutory Rape
Statutory rape occurs when a person who is over the age of consent has intercourse with a person who is under the age of consent. In the state of New Jersey, the general age of consent is 16.
What Constitutes “Endangering the Welfare of Children” in New Jersey?
Endangering the Welfare of Children is a criminal offense that comes with severe penalties in the state of New Jersey. There are several types of crimes that can be charged as Endangering the Welfare of Children, ranging from causing harm to a child that constitutes abuse or neglect to creating or distributing child pornography.
DoD Modifies Criteria for Expedited Naturalization of U.S. Service Members
The process of becoming a U.S. citizen is time consuming and riddled with legal hurdles. Most immigrants who wish to become a naturalized citizen must reside in the United States for at least five years, but there are several exceptions to this requirement, one of which applies to service members in the U.S. armed forces.
Green Card Holders Face New Hurdle to Enlist in U.S. Coast Guard
Effective Oct. 13, all lawful permanent residents who apply for enlistment in the U.S. Coast Guard will have to pass a Military Service Suitability Determination (MSSD) and National Security Determination (NSD). According to a memorandum issued by the Department of Defense, the DoD Consolidated Adjudications Facility (CAF) will administer the MSSD and NSD after the applicant’s background investigation has completed.
What are the Legal Consequences for Underage Drinking in New Jersey?
Elizabeth, NJ—In both Elizabeth, NJ as well as the entire state of New Jersey, a person must be 21 years old to legally purchase or consume any alcoholic beverage on a licensed premises. While most people are aware of this law, underage drinking is rampant—the 2015 National Survey on Drug Use and Health reported that 20 percent of people aged 12 to 20 drank alcohol in the past 30 days. According to the State of New Jersey Department of Human Services Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services, New Jersey youth appear to be experimenting with alcohol at a rate above the national average, with approximately 470,000 underage youth in New Jersey drinking each year.